You know how there are some folks out there that have everything planned out weeks in advance, well I’m not one of them, I tend to be a fly by the seat of my pants sort. It’s not to say that I can’t plan anything in advance and have it come out great, I just have to make myself work a little harder and remember to get everything organized in advance. What does this have to do with cooking? I can almost hear you asking since I categorized this post under cooking.

Menu planning, not my strong suit by a long shot, however I have worked out a system that works for me through a lot of trial and error. Some families have themed nights like pizza, Mexican, etc., you get the idea I trust. That didn’t work well for me, I tried, it just didn’t work. What I have found that works for me is to assign a particular protein source to each day, and then plan my menu’s that way. It works, and works wonderfully for me. So in our house the days of the week are as follows:

  • Sunday, pork/ham and occasionally bacon
  • Monday, beef (DH’s favorite day of the week :D, next to the last work day of each week)
  • Tuesday, turkey
  • Wednesday, fish (my least favorite day:P)
  • Thursday, chicken
  • Friday, vegetarian all the way baby 😀
  • Saturday, leftovers/FYO – fix your own
  • Sometimes I will use Saturdays as a day to experiment with recipe’s that use alcohol as ingredients, but that’s pretty rare.

    With the main protein, in mind I flip through the cookbooks and pick a recipe at least 2/3 days in advance. If I need an ingredient I have time to swing by the store and pick it up, it gets used within a day or two, and helps eliminate the scary unused foods from the fridge.

